Salvete! A new member with a question...

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
TheBermuda
Textkit Neophyte

Salvete! A new member with a question...

Post by TheBermuda »

Hello! I'm a high school sophomore who will be going into Latin 2 this year, and I'm hoping this site will give me extra help and practice.

I want to become a translator (I am an intermediate Japanese/beginner French student), and many universities require student translators to learn an ancient language. I was wondering if I can expect to be fluent in Latin by the time I graduate high school, or is that entirely unreasonable? If it is, how long does it take the average learner to master Latin? Thank you. :)

Jefferson Cicero
Textkit Member

Re: Salvete! A new member with a question...

Post by Jefferson Cicero »

I suppose it has a lot to do with how extensive your learning materials are, or if you have a good teacher or tutor. You'll have to put much effort into it above and beyond your classroom study or homework.

I would recommend studying your grammar book religiously, and then start trying some composition. Writing Latin or any new language is more effective than reading for mastering the language.

I also recommend learning your vocabulary from English to Latin. In other words, dont look at the Latin word and try to give the definition in English. Look at the English and then give the word in Latin. That's a simple trick, but it worked quite well for me. It's also the ages old way of learning Latin vocabulary. It's harder, but it works better.