Self-introduction

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
gdweber
Textkit Neophyte

Self-introduction

Post by gdweber »

Salvete!

I'm a self-taught/self-teaching beginner student of Latin, using "Latin for Today: First-Year Course" by Gray and Jenkins (1928), a book which I picked up a few years ago but only started to look at seriously last month. Inside the cover is an inscription by its previous owner: "If found please, send to Dead Letter Office somewhere in China," with a 1 1/2 cent stamp affixed. I'm amazed that I've gone as far as genitive and dative case, though now that I've met so many cases, they tend to blur together, and I find I need to review a lot before going forward.

Previous language experience: English from childhood, four years of German in high school, two years of college French, and half a semester of Chinese in graduate school.

Aside from languages, I've studied mathematics (B.A.), philosophy (Ph. D.), business (M.B.A), and computer science (M.S.). Magister sum: I'm on the faculty of Informatics at a campus of Indiana University, but I live in Ohio.

Hodie mea sententia est, "Orare est laborare, et laborare est orare."

korudos
Textkit Neophyte

Re: Self-introduction

Post by korudos »

Hello gdweber, and welcome.

I'm new myself. Being so, I was pleased to receive a warm welcome, so I wish to extend the courtesy.

I am totally unfamiliar with the text you are using, but I must say that I generally have a fondness for old books. Latin, after all has not changed much. [Joke. It could be argued otherwise, like, "Uh, have you ever heard of Italian?" (or Spanish, or, if you want to push it further, French)]