finley

ailuros
Textkit Neophyte

finley

Post by ailuros »

are the works of moses finley still useful or have they been superseded? i was going to get his book on slavery, and maybe some of his books on ancient economies, but thought i should ask if more recent works on these topics are a better bet. thanks in advance if anyone has an opinion.

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: finley

Post by mwh »

I'm no expert but I don’t think Finley’s work will ever be superseded. But Keith Hopkins brilliantly took his work further and in (and from) different directions, and for slavery you should read his Conquerors and Slaves. I could tell some tales about him.
—If you want to see Hopkins in action and interacting with Momigliano and other luminaries, there’s video of a 1977 seminar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iI4hB_DEX6o (starting around 35.40). There's also video of him interviewing and engaging with Finley somewhere.

ailuros
Textkit Neophyte

Post by ailuros »

thanks, mwh. i didn't know of hopkins' work and will definitely check out the book and the video. i won't ask you to divulge your tales!

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Post by mwh »

Perhaps I was imagining video of the Hopkins-Finley interview. But there’s a transcript of it at https://muse.jhu.edu/article/548942. It’s very illuminating, and very well worth reading.

ailuros
Textkit Neophyte

Post by ailuros »

thank you for the follow-up, sir. i read hopkins' obituary from the daily telegraph. quite an interesting academic career. i look forward to reading the transcript.

daivid
Administrator

Post by daivid »

mwh wrote:I'm no expert but I don’t think Finley’s work will ever be superseded. But Keith Hopkins brilliantly took his work further and in (and from) different directions, and for slavery you should read his Conquerors and Slaves. I could tell some tales about him.