Textkit Logo

canis et ovis

Here's where you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get translation help and more!

Moderator: thesaurus

canis et ovis

Postby gluke » Thu Feb 19, 2009 2:42 pm

I am just beginning to learn Latin and I don't quite understand the third declension with words such as canis et ovis. My teacher claims that ovis is nominative but it is also genitive and I need help.
gluke
Textkit Neophyte

Re: canis et ovis

Postby dtpsu » Thu Feb 19, 2009 3:46 pm

What would you exactly like help with? How the words decline, how you can tell what words are in the third declension, or is it something different?
dtpsu
Textkit Neophyte

Postby paulusnb » Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:33 pm

The third declension is the most irregular of declensions. Sometimes the genitive form is the same as the nominative.

The way to keep all nouns straight is this: memorize the genitive. Once you know the genitive (and assuming you know the endings), you can decline any noun. So, if the book says that the genitive is the same as the nominative, then indeed it is. It is ok. The advice I give my students is to accept it and not to think about it.

So, the genitive of rex is regis. It declines as follows (omitting vocative)

rex reges
regis regum
regi regibus
regem reges
rege regibus

This is the third declension masc. and fem. If it is a neut., just know that the accusative will be the same as the nominative and the plural nom. and acc. will end in -a.

Ignore i-stems, unless your teacher wants you to know them.
Last edited by paulusnb on Thu Feb 19, 2009 11:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
When a true genius appears, you can know him by this sign: that all the dunces are in a confederacy against him. ~Swift
paulusnb
Textkit Fan

Postby Superavi » Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:33 pm