New learner, need help with sentence...

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
phookster
Textkit Neophyte

New learner, need help with sentence...

Post by phookster »

Hi everyone,

I have started enjoying the wonders of Latin BUT I am an absolute noob. A friend of mine has asked if I could translate the following sentence: "Knowledge will always be heritage of a few". I guess that I will be able to do this easily in a few years but right now I am stuck!

Any help would be appreciated, thanks a bunch :)

Regards,
David

thesaurus
Textkit Zealot

Re: New learner, need help with sentence...

Post by thesaurus »

Good luck on your Latin odyssey!

"Knowledge will always be heritage of a few"
Sapientia semper erit paucorum hereditas.
Horae quidem cedunt et dies et menses et anni, nec praeteritum tempus umquam revertitur nec quid sequatur sciri potest. Quod cuique temporis ad vivendum datur, eo debet esse contentus. --Cicero, De Senectute

thesaurus
Textkit Zealot

Post by thesaurus »

double post
Horae quidem cedunt et dies et menses et anni, nec praeteritum tempus umquam revertitur nec quid sequatur sciri potest. Quod cuique temporis ad vivendum datur, eo debet esse contentus. --Cicero, De Senectute

Kasper
Textkit Zealot

Post by Kasper »

'Scienta' , in my opinion, would be better than 'sapientia'.

also, the present tense, i believe, should be preferred in statements that are considered to contain a general 'truth'.

ps. a quick search in A&G reveals at para 465. "the present tense denotes an action or state ... (3) as indefinite, referring to no particular time, but denoting a general truth". It provides as examples: "minora di neglegunt" and "obsequium amicos, veritas odium parit".

ah! and apparently this is known as the 'gnomic' present. Well, you learn something new everyday...

Trimalchio
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Trimalchio »