A brief sentence from Trithemius, translation help?

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
autophile
Textkit Neophyte

A brief sentence from Trithemius, translation help?

Post by autophile »

Hi all,

I'm a very new Latin hobbyist, studying from Wheelock and Moreland & Fleischer. I've been puzzling out this sentence found in Trithemius's Steganographia:

Quippe qui & multa, quae prius nesciveram, per continuum legendi studium didici.

I'm having a lot of trouble figuring out where legendi and studium fit in. My best effort is:

Of course, such a thing (such things) -- and many things which I had not previously known -- I did learn through the repeated ??? ???.

My problem is that legendi is a future passive participle in either GEN sing. M/N, or NOM pl. M. So what is to be read? Some thing GEN M/N or some things NOM M. The only referent that could possibly match this word is qui (as NOM pl. M).

I don't understand the word order at all, in that case.

Halp! :)

Thanks,

--Rob

Alatius
Textkit Fan

Post by Alatius »

(Grr. I had just written a message when my browser crached on me. Here goes again...)

The form legendi is not a future passive participle (also known as gerundive), but instead a gerund. It looks exactly like a gerundive, except that it only has the forms -ndi, -ndo, -ndum, -ndo. It acts like a noun, rather than as an adjective. And it need not have an object; in fact, it usually doesn't. One common example is "ars scribendi": "the art of writing". I would translate "per continuum legendi studium" as "through continuous reading study".

There are some other issues with your translation, that, I guess, mostly stem from the somewhat irregular interpunctation (compared to modern standards). I analyse the phrase, together with the surrounding phrases, in this manner:

Code: Select all

Nec me penitus
   ut reor
fefellit opinio