Newbie in Latin

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
rbaleksandar
Textkit Neophyte

Newbie in Latin

Post by rbaleksandar »

Hi there. :D

Well, I am a student and I study a lot so I won't probably have enough time to learn it very good, but I'll do my best ;) Sooo...I hope I have hit the right spot - the right forum :) I don't know nogthing in Latin except a couple of cool quotes and of course the alphabet. But nothing more...So my questio is: where should I start from? I've seen the books here and I even downloaded 2-3 of them. Another question - are these books appropriate enough for a total newbie like me?
I am really fond of learning this languge. Not because most European languages are basicly based on it, but because it is really nice to speak a "dead" language like this. It makes you look smart (although I don't need that last item - I look smart enough already 8-))

Thanks in advance.

Ireclan
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Ireclan »

Well, no book in my opinion will adequately explain EVERYTHING for "total newbies" (of which I'm one, pleased to meet you :) ). That's why you need something like this forum, a place to go to when the books don't elaborate quite enough. That being said, the standard for Latin seems to be Wheelock. But be sure if you get that to get Grote's "A Comprehensive Guide to Wheelock's Latin", so you'll have extra help at your fingertips. It REALLY is worth the extra cash, because it doesn't assume you know basic grammar (which in some areas, I didn't). Wheelock also has a website, where you can download audio that helps you improve your pronunciation. However, a note of caution: I would discount Wheelock's recommendation that you join the Quasillum (sp?) study group. It is not recommended. I don't want to appear to be slanderous, so I'll just leave it at that.

rbaleksandar
Textkit Neophyte