Who commits patricide?

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Briony
Textkit Neophyte

Who commits patricide?

Post by Briony »

Hello everyone,
I am a retired biologist who used to have access to Latin experts who helped devise new names for scientific concepts. I still have concepts that I would like to name rationally, but have not begun my long-awaited study of Latin, so I come to you. I need the correct ending to a word which will change a word similar to "patricide," into a word similar to "one who commits patricide." Is there such a thing? How would I find endings like it in the future?
I won't take anymore of your time. Thanks in advance for any help.
Sincerely,
Briony

anphph
Textkit Enthusiast

Re: Who commits patricide?

Post by anphph »

In English, the word patricide means both.

Oedipus is a patricide because he killed his own father.
Oedipus commited patricide on the road to Thebes.

In Latin there are two words, patricidium for the act and patricida for the person doing it.

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »

Greek too, with both found in Homer:

πατροφονεύς -- murderer of one's father
πατροφόνος -- murder of one's father

The Greek term is much more immediate than the English. The difference between "father-killer" and "patricide" in English, I would guess. I assume the same is true of Latin? My Latin isn't good enough to tell. Whatever is said in Latin seems to comes out sounding sonorous.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

anphph
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by anphph »

Latin is also obvious.

Patr- for father
-cidium for "cædere", to chop, or kill.