Elementary Latin Dictionary by Lewis

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Brian
Textkit Neophyte

Elementary Latin Dictionary by Lewis

Post by Brian »

The giant Latin Dictionary by Lewis and Short, is quite pricey. Is the Elementary Latin Dictionary by C.T. Lewis, a suitable substitute? It appears to be an abridged version, of the big dictionary, similar, in kind, to the abridged version of the giant Liddell/Scott Greek-English Lexicon.

thanks in advance for any advice

Brian

euphony
Textkit Neophyte

Post by euphony »

Hi Brian,

I am an intermediate student of Latin and I find the CT Lewis abridged dictionary to be enough for my purposes. I haven't even had to think about upgrading yet, but perhaps as an advanced student I will have to.

Beatus Pistor
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Beatus Pistor »

I own hard copies of all 4 major latin dictionaries:
1. Casselll's
2. Chambers-Murray(a re-sale of Smith smaller latin dictionary).
3. Lewis - Elementary latin dictionary
4. Bantham's new college.

All the first 3 dictionaries suffer from the fact that they are written under old lexical methodologies and in archaic(British) English. They are all about the same scope. Cassell's, if you read the preface, has been revised too many times, and from personal experience it sometimes gives false quantities for certain words. Chambers-Murry(0550190031), and don't let its old name full you, is the most detailed and includes later authors, such as Ausonius. It is about the same size and price of Cassell's but it is only latin-english.(16$~)
The elementary is fine, archaic, detailed enough but is twice the price. Its highlight is the etymological appendix at its end, which is not even included in the full lewis and short.
The Bantham is an excellent quick reference, and its interface is excellent, only suppressed by the OLD.