stuck with one sentence

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Mr_JP
Textkit Neophyte

stuck with one sentence

Post by Mr_JP »

Hi, I am struggling with a text in a book called "38 Latin Stories" which is a companion to Wheelock's. I am an independent student and the text I'm struggling with says it is adapted from Cicero, Brutus 65-70.

I won't type in the whole thing, but there is one sentence which still has me stumped:
[]= supplied by notes
() supplied by me

Sed ea in notris [oratoribus] inscitia est, quod hi ipsi qui in litteris Graecis antiquitate delectantur, hanc in Catone ne noverunt quidem.

So far I cannot connect these phrases in any way that makes sense.

"But this ignorance is in our orators" or possibly "but this ignorance in our orators is"
"which/because these same (orators) who are delighted by the antiquity in Greek literature"
"they had not even become acquainted with this (ignorance?) in Cato"

I'm missing something that's probably obvious to a more advanced student....but I just can't see it. Can anyone help me out?

Calgacus
Textkit Neophyte

Re: stuck with one sentence

Post by Calgacus »

I think the hanc in this case agrees with an understood antiquitatem (which is the only feminine word in the previous clause).

Qimmik
Textkit Zealot

Post by Qimmik »

Here's a longer excerpt from Brutus:

sed ea in nostris inscitia est, quod hi ipsi, qui in Graecis antiquitate delectantur eaque subtilitate, quam Atticam appellant, hanc in Catone ne noverunt quidem. Hyperidae volunt esse et Lysiae. Laudo. sed cur nolunt Catones? . . . Cur igitur Lysias et Hyperides amatur, cum penitus ignoretur Cato?