Stopping Point for 1st Year Latin

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Petrus
Textkit Neophyte

Stopping Point for 1st Year Latin

Post by Petrus »

JMJ

Hey Y'all,

I'm a homeschooled student working through my first years of formal Latin (although I should have started MUCH earlier...). I am using Linney's Latin Class for my curriculum (here's a link to Mr. Linney's site: http://www.linneyslatinclass.com/index.php). My question concerns whether I'm on par with other first-year Latin students. Since the course uses Gunnison's text (link: http://books.google.com/books/reader?id ... pg=GBS.PR4), which was published at the beginning of the 20th century, I'm not exactly sure at what point a student would stop in this text for the school year. If someone, familiar with what is traditionally covered in a first-year high school Latin class (i.e. a competent Latin teacher), could look over Gunnison's text and let me know when to stop, that would be great!

God Love You,

Petrus

Paco
Textkit Neophyte

Re: Stopping Point for 1st Year Latin

Post by Paco »

Since no one has answered yet, perhaps let a novice share his first thoughts.

In the US, an average contemporary high school student learns the whole of the basic grammar in two years (by working through a comprehensive textbook) and read authentic/adapted texts in their third year. Since every textbook makes its own choice of the sequence in which grammar and vocabulary are introduced, it is not easy to say what it is expected from a given learner who has completed 1 year of Latin.