Getting the order correct

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
LTD85
Textkit Neophyte

Getting the order correct

Post by LTD85 »

I really hate to appear to abuse the forum, but I only have a single question: Is this correct...... "Libellus Imperium Romanus"? I have no background in latin, and intend this to be the title of a book I am working on about Imperial Roman Government.

adrianus
Textkit Zealot

Re: Getting the order correct

Post by adrianus »

Libellus de Imperio Romano
Libellus Imperii Romani
I'm writing in Latin hoping for correction, and not because I'm confident in how I express myself. Latinè scribo ut ab omnibus corrigar, non quod confidenter me exprimam.

Caecilius
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Caecilius »

If you are working on a monograph, may I ask how are you conducting research on Rome without Latin? Unless perhaps you're working on popular history?
mirantur quidem divinam speciem, sed ut simulacrum fabre politum mirantur omnes.
- Psyche et Cupido, Lucius Apuleius

adrianus
Textkit Zealot

Post by adrianus »

Translators translate that others may enjoy and benefit from the fruits of their labour. Let us presume that he or she is using English-language secondary and translated sources and not primary sources, Caecilius, as many writers do who don't have Latin. Even having Latin (of a sort), many academic writers would be hard-pressed to themselves translate accurately primary sources. It would be different if you want to write about new, untranslated sources. And, of course, you cannot check your sources without Latin.