Which book should I start with ?

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Nihil_Sine_Deo
Textkit Neophyte

Which book should I start with ?

Post by Nihil_Sine_Deo »

D'ooge, Collar & Daniell, Wheelocks . . . ?

For the absolute beginner.

Andrus
Textkit Member

Post by Andrus »

Hi Nihil_Sine_Deo,

The fact that are 3 subforums each dedicated to one book indicates that you will receive many different answers to your question, since which one of us likes one of these books.

You also will be told about Lingua Latina Familia Romana, but that I will leave to Lucus Eques :wink:

I have been study with D’Oodge and I like the book, so my recommendation would be that book. But I think the fundamental is work and to study every day, even if it is only one hour. I can’t say I have managed the last part of my advice but I do try to have some time to my Latin study on everyday.

And you always have these boards to get help wherever you got stuck in your study.

Wellcome to TextKit,

Andrus

Nihil_Sine_Deo
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Nihil_Sine_Deo »

Thank you Andrus.

The downloaded file for Dooge does not open on my computer. Is there a key ?

Kip
Textkit Neophyte

latin

Post by Kip »

It is a PDF file, so you'll need Adobe Acrobat Reader to open the file I think. There is a "key", but it is the answer key to D'Ooge's exercises. Also, I think you have to register or something.