Orberg texts?

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
av1438
Textkit Neophyte

Orberg texts?

Post by av1438 »

I saw some old threads that mentioned these texts ("lingva latina" series: http://users.cybercity.dk/~bbe6711/ ) and the opinions were generally positive. Are their any more recent views from people on the board about Orberg's books?

edonnelly
Administrator

Post by edonnelly »

I can report on the first third of the first book (which I just got and started reading for fun), and I think it's great. It's a little tedious at times, but it is such a different approach than any other series I've seen that I think it is definitely worth the money. I wish it were advancing through grammar more rapidly, but it is designed for the complete novice (which I am not).

av1438
Textkit Neophyte

Post by av1438 »

Thanks for your opinion!
I'm not a complete novice either, but I'm starting a "return to latin" with someone who is, and this text looked good for our purposes. Perhaps we can supplement with a more grammar-oriented text, as well.

Lucus Eques
Textkit Zealot

Post by Lucus Eques »

Does anyone know of a Greek equivalent? I'd love to have a Greek version of something like this.
L. Amādeus Rāniērius · Λ. Θεόφιλος Ῥᾱνιήριος 🦂

SCORPIO·MARTIANVS

edonnelly
Administrator

Post by edonnelly »

av1438 wrote: Perhaps we can supplement with a more grammar-oriented text, as well.
Probably a good idea. While I really like the fact that it is entirely in Latin, it does make it difficult for the author to explain grammatical ideas early on.
Lucus Eques wrote:Does anyone know of a Greek equivalent? I'd love to have a Greek version of something like this.
I haven't seen one, but I agree it would be a great thing to have.

av1438
Textkit Neophyte

Post by av1438 »

I found the following link in an old thread: