absolute beginner

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
ChelseaGrace
Textkit Neophyte

absolute beginner

Post by ChelseaGrace »

I have recently decided that I wanted to learn Latin and would like to discuss ways and materials to help me learn more effectively, faster, and hopefully cheaper. I was hoping that somebody here could give me a few hints.

Emma_85
Global Moderator

Post by Emma_85 »

Well cheapest will be to teach yourself using the books that are available here at textkit :wink: . I suppose that's why your here...?

Episcopus
Textkit Zealot

Post by Episcopus »

2f ' (download d'ooge) = (latin learning)^2

Emma_85
Global Moderator

Post by Emma_85 »

Hic sedeo ego et cogito nihil malum - et Episcopus, at tu memoras mihi mathematicam! :cry:

Brinestorm
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Brinestorm »

Emma_85 wrote:Hic sedeo ego et cogito nihil malum - et Episcopus, at tu memoras mihi mathematicam! :cry:
Non sumus in Agora; cur loqueris in lingua peregrina? Heu in lingua peregrina ipse locutus sum.

Emma_85
Global Moderator

Post by Emma_85 »

Ah... at Episcopus solum latinum intelleget. :wink:

ChelseaGrace
Textkit Neophyte

Post by ChelseaGrace »

Are you people making fun of me in Latin? How unfair is that!?! Now I have to learn it, just to know what you said...

Emma_85
Global Moderator

Post by Emma_85 »

Hehehe, no! We aren't making fun of you. But if it makes you want to learn Latin then 'hey'! That's what you asked for ... 'how can I learn Latin faster?' - by wanting to learn it is the answer. :P

I was just complaining in Latin that Episocopus' way of telling you to download d'ooge remined me of maths :x . (I'm a bit sick of it at the moment, cause I have my maths and physics finals in 2 weeks and so I'm basically revising maths all day long :( ).

Episcopus
Textkit Zealot

Post by Episcopus »