Salvete! (And question about pronunciation)

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
FiliusLunae
Textkit Member

Salvete! (And question about pronunciation)

Post by FiliusLunae »

Hello!
I am a college student, studying Latin on my own with Wheelock's. I registered some time ago when I was starting with it. I've always wanted to post to this great forum, but never did get to do it. However, I am always visiting and reading what you all write. I have learned a lot from all of you. I have quite a passion for the Romance languages; what I go into as a career will definitely have to do with this (Linguistics Major). I have been a told I have a "gift" for learning languages. I'm guessing everyone who visits this board possesses this "gift". :-) But, if I indeed have this gift, it is only for the Romance languages, because they're the only ones that interest me, and I would not see myself learning Chinese, Arabic or German (Ancient Greek sends chills down my spine). I knew I would eventually learn Latin, just didn't know when. The way I got "pulled" into finally learning Latin was that I asked someone online how to say "Son Of The Moon" in Latin. This person did not much Latin and so simply gave me a guess. Since he couldn't really tell me, I began to research online and came across several Latin grammars and the like. A few days later, I went out and got the Dummie's Guide to Latin. I went through that in a week, of course, and learned basically nothing. More history than language in that book. Well, then I began to read that Wheelock's is one of the best, so I got it. Right now, I'm on chapter 24, and I must say I have learned a lot. I don't know as much as most of you, certainly, but I definitely hope to be at your level one day. I can read and understand many passages from the Vulgate since it's not as complex as Cicero or any ancient autho