Textkit Logo

Techniques for learning Latin

Here's where you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get translation help and more!

Moderator: thesaurus

Techniques for learning Latin

Postby pedrito » Wed Jun 16, 2004 3:31 pm

I'm very new to Latin. I just kind of started studying it on a whim and am finding it quite enjoyable.

Latin is my 3rd/4th language (I've been learning Italian recently as well).

I studied French for a number of years in school and lived in Mexico for a few years, so my Spanish is probably my strongest right now (My French is actually pretty rusty right now from a lack of real use in the past 7 or 8 years).

Obviously Latin is gramatically quite different from these languages, and I'm finding the memorization to be much more of a challenge than say, with Italian (which I find to be almost a mix of French and Spanish, gramatically).

Anyway, as I said, I'm new to Latin and I'm currently working on memorizing the first two declensions. To do this, I've been simply using the adjective "magna" in the masculine, feminine, and neuter, as a model. I find that it's easier for me to memorize the endings for the declensions this way. Are there any downsides to this? I find it much easier to use a single model word than having to memorize the endings for different nouns.

I know there are some exceptions such as the masculines in -er, and I'm simply treating them as I would irregular verbs in other languages and memorizing them separately.

For mapping the Latin back to English, I know there are a few techniques to help resolve ambiguities (such as the -a ending being 1st decl. sg nom, abl, voc, as well as 2nd decl. neut pl, nom, acc, and voc). It seems there are a good number of these ambiguities.