A hard choice

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
mind
Textkit Neophyte

A hard choice

Post by mind »

Hello, everyone,

I'm studying Latin for half a year now. Since I do it for my own entertainment, I don't hurry. However, now it seems like I face a hard choice. I use a Russian coursebook. Two, actually, switching between them from time to time. I like the books and I think they are the best ones available in Russian: Lingua Latina by Podosinov and Shchaveleva and Latinsky yazyk by Katzman and Pokrovskaya. However, both of them, and all other Russian coursebooks, AFAIK, share the same two defects. First, these are schoolbooks, not self-teaching books, therefore there are no keys to the excercises. Second, since the tradition of classical studies has declined in the Soviet times, there are no students' communities around any of the books.

Sometimes I feel I need some advice or control. Fortunately, there's Internet with a lot of online communities, and TextKit being one of the most attractive. Still, I have to make a choice. Nobody knows the books I use and excercises I do and I can't discuss the problems I face or measure my results against the results of fellow students.

Perhaps, I should change the coursebook to an English coursebook, available here at TextKit, like D'Ooge or Collar-Daniel (I'm not ready for the composition books, yet, I'm afraid)? These books would bring a number of other problems, though. E.g., I have noticed that the English books often accentuate the questions which are obvious for a native Russian speaker, like the notion of cases and inflection, but omit the topics natural for the English speakers, like the importance of short/long vowels opposition. Also, the scanned books from TextKit, unfortunately, have the shortages of e-books but lack their advantages (search, etc).