Is Lingua Latina enough for fairy tales?

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Munchie33
Textkit Neophyte

Is Lingua Latina enough for fairy tales?

Post by Munchie33 »

My homeschooled daughter is in year 3 and has asked to do Latin next semester or next year. I studied it myself throughout high school and while I learnt a lot about English and the structure of language while doing so, I initially found it tedious with all the reciting declensions and whatnot. I am hoping, while she is young anyway, to start it off in a more fun way and concentrate on rigorous grammar once she has a bit of ability built up.

Lingua Latina looks great for this purpose. It isn't a complete Latin course, from what I've read, because it does not address these grammar concerns, but that is fine at this stage of the game.

I plan to work through the first book, Lingua Latina: Familia Roma, and then move on to Latin fairy tales and other fun but easy reads. At least for the first year I don't want it to be full of rules about grammar and tenses, but more intuitive to build comfort and flow with the language.

Having not used the book before, is it realistic to think that after finishing Lingua Latina 1 she will be able to read Latin fairy tales, or even (fingers crossed) Harrius Potter? She has asked to learn Latin and I really want to foster her interest at this stage by making it fun and natural before looking at the more sophisticated aspects of the language.

I would be grateful for any advice, opinions, or personal experiences here!

lauragibbs
Textkit Member

Re: Is Lingua Latina enough for fairy tales?

Post by lauragibbs »

Lingua Latina Per Se Illustrata is a great Latin course and not incomplete by any means. It is reading-based so hopefully your daughter will enjoy it!