about "magnus"

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Junya
Textkit Enthusiast

about "magnus"

Post by Junya »

Hi.

A question about "magnus", or about the usage of neuter adjective.

"magnus" means "large" in spatial size, quantity, weight, time(long), voice(loud), value, importance, mentality, age.

Then, the neuter "magnum" (or "magna"), though there are only samples of importaqnce and mentality in L&S dictionary, can mean otherwise ?
I mean, can it mean "a thing of great spatial size", "things of great quantity", "a thing of great age (a thing that has existed for a long time)", "a work of great time (a work that needs or has cost great time)" ?

Carolus Raeticus
Textkit Enthusiast

Re: about "magnus"

Post by Carolus Raeticus »

Salve Junya!

I'm only a beginner myself, so I cannot give you a definite answer, but I believe that the use of "magnum" alone as a substantive in the cases presented by you is not advisible:

In his Hints and Helps in Continuous Latin Prose W.C. Flamstead states that one should think of the meaning, not of the form, of the English, and put concrete for abstract. One way to do that is by using relative clauses.

So, "a work of great time" (which is rather ambiguous in English, isn't it?) might be rendered like "a work, to which someone has devoted much time" or your own "work, that has cost a great amount of time [to create]".

"A thing of great spatial size" would be something like "res magna", I guess.

Also, if Lewis & Short don't list such a usage, why would one want to use it (even if were possible)? Such usage would be very rare. And as far as I know, the ancient Romans were rather averse to new-fangled expressions (Alex W. Potts, Hints toward Latin Prose Composition)

Vale,

Carolus Raeticus
Sperate miseri, cavete felices.

Junya
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Junya »

Hi Carolus. :)