Absolute beginner - first question

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
john_the_mackem
Textkit Neophyte

Absolute beginner - first question

Post by john_the_mackem »

Hello everyone.

Recently decided to teach myself Latin, "Just for the hell of it". I've bought myself a few books, a decent latin dictionary and i've downloaded some readers from the net.
I've managed to work my way through verbs of the first declension and some basic nouns. Going ok so far, although perhaps a little slow.

This forum looks like a great resource and I hope to use it throughout my learning. But for now I have one glaringly simple question.

I'm told that the Romans (I'm ignoring Middle-age latin for now) didn't have a letter "J". They actually used the "I" as both a constanant and a vowel. My dictionary shows me the month June is "Iunius" and that a Jew is an "Iudeaus".
How do I pronounce this???

Is it "Y" as in Yew-nee-us and Yew-day-us
Is it "J" as in Jew-nee-us and Jew-day-us
Is it "I" as in eye-oo-nee-us and Eye-oo-day-us

... or have I missed the boat completely?

And given that (according to my book) the "C" is always hard as in "cat" and that the dipthong "ae" is pronounced "eye" as in "high", does this mean that Julius Caesar was actually Yew-lee-us Kai-zar?

My name is John, so I am assuming in Roman times I would be Iohn. How the hell would I pronounce this? Prononuciation is clearly my weak point so far.

Cheers,
Iohn.

benissimus
Global Moderator

Post by benissimus »

Hi John,

Despite what others might tell you, speed is far less important than comprehension. Keep a steady pace that is comfortable for you but still challenging and you will do well. Pronunciation can be difficult at first, but I consider it more of a secondary concern, which you can practice while reading the Latin you are working on presently.