What's the point?

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
oursmartweb
Textkit Neophyte

What's the point?

Post by oursmartweb »

Curiously, could someone tell me the point of learning Latin? I am serious when I ask this. I am a web designer and I use lorem ipsum as filler text. It's Latin, and the point of it is that it's a dead language.

So why? :)

lauragibbs
Textkit Member

Re: What's the point?

Post by lauragibbs »

There are MANY books written in Latin, especially during the Middle Ages and Renaissance, that have not been translated into any modern language. If you want to read those books, you have to know Latin. It used to be those books were hard to get access to, locked away in university libraries, but now they are online, thanks to GoogleBooks and other digital library projects. So, if you read Latin, you can read all these old books - I study folktales and fables, so for me it is really exciting to get to read all these hundreds-year-old stories that have survived only in Latin. :-)

adrianus
Textkit Zealot

Post by adrianus »

oursmartweb wrote:I use lorem ipsum as filler text. It's Latin, and the point of it is that it's a dead language.
The point of Lorem Ipsum is that it's meaningless Latin, so even a latinist will focus on the page layout and not be distracted by the text content.

Sine sensu est "Lorem Ipsum" in quo est utilitas eius, deinde et latinista operam dabit ad formam elementorum in paginâ non ad scripturae sensum.
I'm writing in Latin hoping for correction, and not because I'm confident in how I express myself. Latinè scribo ut ab omnibus corrigar, non quod confidenter me exprimam.

MatthaeusLatinus
Textkit Neophyte

Post by MatthaeusLatinus »

adrianus
Textkit Zealot

Post by adrianus »

The point of learning latin is to read the Aeneid in latin. It's so much better than in English.