A stranger in these parts...

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
edenworkshops
Textkit Neophyte

A stranger in these parts...

Post by edenworkshops »

Good Afternoon

I am a stranger in these forums, what brings me here, is the desire to understand how to translate a peculiar English phrase into Latin.
I am a bookbinder here at Downside Abbey in Somerset UK.

I wish to give as a present to an aspiring bookbinder, a knife sharpening kit, a sharp knife is a necessity to a binder, and it can be a particularly exasperating skill to master.

The title of the lady in question is Dr.Wendy Creed. I have some very little knowledge of Latin. I believe a bookbinder...or "One who glues books" is called a glutinator (fem) or glutinatoris (masc.), also that the Latin for a sharp knife is cultellus...and that is about where my understanding ceases, which must seem lamentable to the learned scholars present.

What I wish to be able to put in Latin is something to the effect:

A Bookbinders Knife Sharpening Kit for Dr. Wendy Creed from her friend Richard.

I would be extremely grateful for your assistance in this rather obscure project.

Sincerely Yours.

Richard Norman

benissimus
Global Moderator

Re: A stranger in these parts...

Post by benissimus »

Hi Richard, welcome to our happy little forum :)

I believe I can translate this, though I will have to make use of some very arcane words which you have provided ;) Glutinator is actually the masculine form (glutinatoris is the genitive) and I suppose one could invent the feminine version glutinatrix, glutinatricis, though I doubt it existed in Roman times. I found an adjective acuminarius meaning "of/for sharpening", but this is not in Classical use either, so I just used what words I have.