Translation help for a short story i am writing...

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Manwe Sulimo
Textkit Neophyte

Translation help for a short story i am writing...

Post by Manwe Sulimo »

Hello all :)
I am new to learning the language that is Latin...and i have been looking for a place such as this in order to help me with some translations. So far, i have been learning about nominative and genetive cases, and my Latin isn't really strong. But i have Three quotes which i would really like to be accurately translated...so far i have been relying on Dictionaries to aid me...(which isn't all promising)...

Here are the first Two Quotes:

1. "Think not that guilt requires the burning torches of the Furies to agitate and torment it. Their own frauds, their
crimes, their remembrances of the past, their terrors of
the future,--these are the domestic furies that are ever
present to the mind of the impious." --Robert Hall.

Latin: "Non puta culpam postulare faces igneas Furiarum eam agitare et cruciare. Fraudes eorum, scelera eorum, memoriae eorum praeteritorum, terrorum eorum posterorum - haec sunt furores familiares qui in aeternum adsunt in mente impia." --Robert Hall

2. They whose guilt within their bosom lies, imagine every eye beholds their blame. --Shakespeare.

Latin: "Illi quorum culpa in gremio iacet, animo fingunt quemque oculum aspicere eorum culpam." --Shakespeare

I would like to know if the Latin is correct...if not, i would really appreciate it if you could correct the mistakes :)

I also have one last quote that i would like to be translated for anybody interested...

"That hatred springs from more self-contempt than from a legitimate grievance is seen in the intimate connection between hatred and a guilty conscience." --Eric Hoffer

Thanks for reading :)

benissimus
Global Moderator