Should I read latin in latin?

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
feng
Textkit Neophyte

Should I read latin in latin?

Post by feng »

Hello friends,

It has been almost 1 year since i started learning latin. Having finished beginner's latin, now i proceed to grapple with Caesar's gallic war, which indeed is a great pleasure to me.

Accidentally i ran into some articles by Prof. William Harris, in which he stressed the importance of reading aloud in learning latin. This is totally contrary to what currently i am doing--i tend to decode latin into english and do gramatical analysis in my mind. The direct-connection approach of Prof. Harris is quite sensible in cultivating a latin mentality, and i'm planning to follow it.

Here comes the question: How could I make sure that my pronunciation is correct? Are there suitable latin audio chips that i can follow? Or can i read latin just following my heart?

I'm a newcomer here. I don't know whether this question has been discussed or not. If it has been done, the links would be very appreciated. All in all, any comments are welcome.
Thanks!

These are the direct-connection approach by Prof. William Harris, in case someone hasn't read his articles.
http://community.middlebury.edu/~harris ... izing.html
http://community.middlebury.edu/~harris ... ading.html
Last edited by feng on Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Hampie
Textkit Member

Re: Should I read latin in latin?

Post by Hampie »

feng wrote:Hello friends,
It has been almost 1 year since i started learning latin. Having finished beginner's latin, now i proceed to grapple with Caesar's gallic war, which indeed is a great pleasure to me.