Using LL 1 with previous knowledge

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Hampie
Textkit Member

Using LL 1 with previous knowledge

Post by Hampie »

So, I don’t know if anyone of you here got a scary good memory and remember me from two years ago, but at the time I studied latin at the University of Stockholm, and struggled with hexameter and Cicero's first oration against Catiline. Depression, sadly, caught me and with that most of my motivation shrunk to the bottom of the ocean. I did not study enough, the pedagogic methods in the study of Latin was not, i.m.o. very good, and I had a hard time concentrating so it all went to hell, pardon my french. But, since I am registered, and actually completed half of the course, now that I feel very much better and am almost out of the ’blues’ I am thinking that I should not let all this time go to waste and I am planning to take up my Latin studies again.

Since I’ve read so much about it, I decided to ’get hold of’ LL to se how it was, and I really liked (and got impressed) with how the book is laid out. So I bought it and I do not regret it. Since I have studied Latin grammar for 10 weeks the beginning of the book is quite simple – but if I flick to the end I’m completely lost (which of course is a good thing – it means that I will learn stuff!). There are some words, whose meaning does not reveal themselves through the context: but I can always look them up in my dictionary. And if there are any grammar points I don’t get I am familiar with those big, scary grammars, and I’m not intimidated to search them. So I wonder: are the ’Latine Disco’ of any use for me? I haven’t had the possibility to look it through.