use of Quid

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
pmda
Textkit Zealot

use of Quid

Post by pmda »

Hi, I'm a newbie both to this forum and to Latin. i'm teaching myself. I have real beginners question. In the question 'Quid est Sparta' the word 'Quid' is an interrogative pronoun neutral, right? But Sparta is Feminine (I think) nominative. Why doesn't Quid agree with Sparta as in quae or quis? Is Quid (neuter, nominative) simply the default term for 'what'?

Smythe
Textkit Neophyte

Re: use of Quid

Post by Smythe »

I'd be interested in hearing the answer to this myself. I mean, I know quid is the default, but not sure why it wouldn't agree with the 'thing' that was being asked about.

Hampie
Textkit Member

Post by Hampie »

pmda wrote:Hi, I'm a newbie both to this forum and to Latin. i'm teaching myself. I have real beginners question. In the question 'Quid est Sparta' the word 'Quid' is an interrogative pronoun neutral, right? But Sparta is Feminine (I think) nominative. Why doesn't Quid agree with Sparta as in quae or quis? Is Quid (neuter, nominative) simply the default term for 'what'?
*edited*
I think you can use ’quid’ as some kind of all-around-pronoun when asking about things.
Här kan jag i alla fall skriva på svenska, eller hur?

adrianus
Textkit Zealot

Post by adrianus »

Quid est Sparta? = What [thing] is Sparta?
Quae est Sparta? = What Sparta is it? // Which kind of Sparta is it?
Quis est Sparta? = Who is Sparta?
I'm writing in Latin hoping for correction, and not because I'm confident in how I express myself. Latinè scribo ut ab omnibus corrigar, non quod confidenter me exprimam.

Essorant
Textkit Fan

Post by Essorant »

That is because quid is a (pro)noun not an adjective. It is interrogative in "quid est Sparta?", but it is no different in principle from using any other neuter noun and feminine noun: