Need Help with Latin Vacation Bible School Speech

This board is a composition workshop, like a writers' workshop: post your work with questions about style or vocabulary, comment on other people's work, post composition challenges on some topic or form, or just dazzle us with your inventive use of galliambics.
persequor
Textkit Member

Need Help with Latin Vacation Bible School Speech

Post by persequor »

Salvēte omnes,

I'm the self-taught Latin teacher who joined recently and was helped with the Latin letter home to parents (audio CD project).

This coming Saturday, June 6, the church of which I'm a member will be having a Vacation Bible School with the theme "Rome: Paul and the Underground Church". I'm playing the role of a Senator Atticus who sets free one of his slaves, Tullius. I have agreed to say part of my lines in Latin and then one of the other members will "translate" into English.

Below are the English lines and my draft translation. If you could help me improve the Latin between now and Friday, June 5, when we have our rehearsal (5:00 pm CDT U.S. time), I would appreciate it very much. Here they are:

FREE!

(Senator Atticus steps forward, smiling, accepting the applause.)

SENATOR ATTICUS: Friends, Romans, countrymen! I come today not as a senator, which I am-one of the most powerful men in Rome. The most powerful man most of you will ever meet.

And I don't come as a man who is rich-though I am. I have enough money to buy this entire Marketplace a hundred times-and you with it.

And I don't come to you as a man who is above you-though I am. I'm important and you're ... not.

I come today because I wish to set free one of your own. For many years my slave, Tullius, has run a small shop here in this Marketplace. Being a generous master, I have allowed him to keep a bit of what he's earned, and now I find that he has raised enough money to buy his freedom. And since he's getting old and slow anyway, I will allow him to be free.

Where is Tullius?