hOI in Iliad 1:104

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bert
Textkit Zealot

hOI in Iliad 1:104

Post by Bert »

[size=150]πίμπλαντ’, ὄσσε δέ οἱ πυρὶ λαμπετόωντι ἐίκτην[/size]. I am a little puzzled about οἱ. I can't see it belonging to anything except ὄσσε. However ὄσσε is dual and οἱ is plural.
Can someone help me out of my puzzlement?

Thank you.

annis
Textkit Zealot

Post by annis »

That pesky homeric hoi.

This isn't the masculine plural demonstrative. Note the accent on the word before it: δέ οἱ. It's enclitic, and enclitic οἱ is the dative third person singular pronoun: "the eyes to him were like a blazing fire."

Here the dative is acting a bit like a possessive ("his eyes"), which I must say οἱ seems to do a lot.

Section 760 has some more of these forms.

In similar fashion beware of the third person possessive ἑός, ἑή, ἑόν: these can drop the epsilon and look like articles or relative pronouns.
William S. Annis — http://www.aoidoi.org/http://www.scholiastae.org/
τίς πατέρ' αἰνήσει εἰ μὴ κακοδαίμονες υἱοί;

Emma_85
Global Moderator

Post by Emma_85 »

I can't work out how to translate hoi in this sentence (Odyssey ζ line 114):

ἀλλ’ ὅτε δὴ ἄρ’ ἔμελλε πάλιν οἰ=κόνδε νέεσθαι
ζεύξασ’ ἡμιόνους πτύξασά τε εἵματα καλά,
ἔνθ’ αὐ=τ’ ἄλλ’ ἐνόησε θεὰ γλαυκῶπις Α0θήνη,
ὡς ὀδυσεὺς ἔγροιτο, ἴδοι τ’ εὐώπιδα κούρην,
ἥ οἱ Φαιήκων ἀνδρῶν πόλιν ἡγήσαιτο.

But when in fact she was about to go home again,
having harnessed the mules and folded the beautiful clothes,
then the bright-eyed goddess Athena thought up this though,
so that Odysseus should awake, and he could see the beautiful maiden,
who by all her Paieken men is thought of as the first in town.