Hi-resolution copy of Pharr

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jaihare
Textkit Zealot

Hi-resolution copy of Pharr

Post by jaihare »

On the download page for Homeric Greek, there's a mention at the bottom of a high-resolution printer-friendly version of the text. It says:

"Please Note: A high resolution, 16.5 MB, printer friendly format is also available for download."

There's no link to said format, and I was wondering if someone knew where it could be downloaded. I've got someone who's asking for that version before we start the study.

Thanks,
Jason

edonnelly
Administrator

Re: Hi-resolution copy of Pharr

Post by edonnelly »

Not sure what happened to that link. I have a copy and would be happy to try to email it to you, but it is 16.5MB (and doesn't zip any smaller). I think gmail will let me send it, or if you have another way like an ftp server, or whatever, I could do that, too. send me a pm.

The reason it is "printer friendly," I believe, is because the pages have been squeezed down to two per 8.5 x 11 printed page. It's still over 200 pages to print. It has the same imperfections (like areas where it can be difficult to differentiate some breathing/accent marks and sections of the poem that have been written on). If someone really wants a printed copy and really plans to spend significant time with this text on a nearly-daily basis over a year or so, then I'd highly recommend just buying the $25 paperback. That's what I ended up doing when I went through it, and it was well worth given the hours per week I was spending with it. I also used the digital version a lot, but the "non-printer-friendly" version is better for reading on a computer, anyway. But, that's all just something to think about. I'm happy to try to send it along.
Ed
The lists: