XIX english-english translation; form issues, and madmen

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Tertius Robertus
Textkit Fan
Location: 666 Burning Hotties Road, Ol' Dis by Styx, 5th inner circle, Hell.

XIX english-english translation; form issues, and madmen

Post by Tertius Robertus »

im not sure i understand this sentence: αγαetc ου κικησεται γε?οντα...

so he will not come upon the old man? great! that is good news for crises, he is free from the pervert! :? he will not overtake? as it is written in the key? i.e. he will not reach the old man? but he is in front of him :? or is there any other meaning im not aware of? (and the same goes to arrive at)

as for my problem with forms these two forms are irrecognizable: ἱεναι ἱεσθαι, there is no such stem ἱ in the previous lessons - in fact in the whole book,[well there is ἱημι] - nor perseus tools recognizes it :? is there a history of madness in the author's family? whence the hell does that come? (the closest thing is ἰκνεομαι but his renders ἰκεσθαι)

there is yet another problem that pisses me off in a greater and more intense manner. see, the forms ἰεναι end αφιει - which do exist - are not told to be so. the former i found in the vocab section at the back, 10 minutes of scrolling ahead of where they are first found, for the latter i had to use perseus to finally learn that this is imperfect of the mi verbs. argh, does this continues to be so in the next chapters? this displeases me [the conjugation of this highly irregular verb eimi is hidden somewhere in the morphology section - without any notice, the conjugation of mi verbs is somewhre ahead, they where introduced chapters ago, without being used, so i didnt bother, but now, without notice they asked to known :?] can it be seen why im mad?