'te' line 13 of Iiliad

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
megas_yiannakis

'te' line 13 of Iiliad

Post by megas_yiannakis »

Xairete :D ,

Im up to chapter 16 in pharr and am trying to translate Iliad, 11 - 16, however ive already hit some trouble...

line 13 is

λυσόμενόs τε θ?γατ?α φέ?ων τ' απε?είσι' άποινα,

with what should i take the first 'te' in the verse?

any help would be apreciated...

Megas_yiannakis :wink:

IreneY
Textkit Zealot

Post by IreneY »

Hint: "τε" links to words of the same kind :D

megas_yiannakis

hmmm so is a rough translation:

desiring to free both his daughter, and great ransoms.

is the t' in >t' apereisi' apoina < a te or a ta?

because if it is a 'ta' then would a good translation be:

Desirind to free his daughter, and bringing those great transoms....

OR should i take 'te' with the next line to give:

"desiring to free his daughter, bringing both great ransoms and holding the wreaths of Apollo upon a golden sceptre..."

spiphany
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by spiphany »

IPHIGENIE: Kann uns zum Vaterland die Fremde werden?
ARKAS: Und dir ist fremd das Vaterland geworden.
IPHIGENIE: Das ist's, warum mein blutend Herz nicht heilt.
(Goethe, Iphigenie auf Tauris)

megas_yiannakis

ahhh thank you that makes much more sence...

i started with attic for a while before discovering pharr's book and the advantages it would give me by starting with homeric... i only got to about chapter 5 in my attic book so it wasnt much of a big change but if im not wrong... in attic 'te' comes before the words it connects that must have been the source of my confusion... or mayb the use of "kai... kai..." in modern greek...

oh well thanks for helping me with that :D

:D sas euharisto!

Bert
Textkit Zealot

Post by Bert »