Odyssey 3, 92-95

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Odyssey 3, 92-95

Post by Bart »

I'm rereading the first books of the Odyssey using the Oxford commentary by Heubeck, Stephanie West and Hainsworth. This is from the beginning of book 3. Telemachus is adressing Nestor, asking him information about his father.

τοὔνεκα νῦν τὰ σὰ γούναθ᾽ ἱκάνομαι, αἴ κ᾽ ἐθέλῃσθα
κείνου λυγρὸν ὄλεθρον ἐνισπεῖν, εἴ που ὄπωπας
ὀφθαλμοῖσι τεοῖσιν ἢ ἄλλου μῦθον ἄκουσας
πλαζομένου:
πέρι γάρ μιν ὀιζυρὸν τέκε μήτηρ.

I take πλαζομένου with ἄλλου, so "...or heard (something) from someone else wandering about"
The Oxford commentary however thinks πλαζομένου refers to Odysseus, so "..heard something from someone else about him (Odysseus) wandering about. The commentary points to the following γάρ as showing this.

This doesn't seem very convincing to me. Furthermore they find the line fussy and clumsy, but isn't it exactly their reading, namely taking πλαζομένου as a second genitive with ἄκουσας independent of ἄλλου that makes it awkward? I checked the Loeb and Ameis, they both seem to agree with how I read it. The Loeb translates: "..or heard the report of some other wanderer".
What do you think?

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Re: Odyssey 3, 92-95

Post by Paul Derouda »

I suppose that technically, both interpretations are possible. However, I'm siding with the Oxford commentary here. I have no hard data to back my claim and my books are in cardboard boxes, so I can't look up anything, though...