Is the digamma in δαήρ a stem or morphological element?

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
ἑκηβόλος
Textkit Zealot

Is the digamma in δαήρ a stem or morphological element?

Post by ἑκηβόλος »

Is the digamma in δαήρ (PIE dayh₂wḗr, Lat. lēvir) a part of the root of the word or is it a morphological affix added to the stem before the ending, in the same way that the "w" element is added to πατήρ (PIE *ph₂tḗr) to form πάτρως?
τί δὲ ἀγαθὸν τῇ πομφόλυγι συνεστώσῃ ἢ κακὸν διαλυθείσῃ;

Timothée
Textkit Enthusiast

Re: Is the digamma in δαήρ a stem or morphological element?

Post by Timothée »

It’s difficult to say for certain, as there is little to go with, but if it is a suffix, it’s an Indo-European one. Note that Indo-Europeanists often tend to like monosyllabic stems, so many would be prone just for that reason to divide *dāiwēr (Pok.179) as *dāi-wēr (by account of the syllabic structure). And it obviously does (partly) compare with kinship words πατήρ, μάτηρ, φράτηρ, θυγάτηρ, which is possibly where this question came into your mind (or wholly?, as *dāiw-ēr, just because of these other words).

The verse Ω 769 is, by the bye, metrically interesting
δαέρων ἢ γαλόων ἢ εἰνατέρων εὐπέπλων
I wonder how West solves it? Beekes reconstructs *δαιϜρῶν.

Timothée
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Timothée »

Pondering this a little more *dāiw- seems to me an awkward Indo-European stem. Phonotactically it doesn’t quite lend itself in my view. Better to a) keep it as a whole *dāiwēr; b) divide it into *dāi-wēr; or c) consider -w- secondary (though already completely established in Proto-Indo-European) *dāi-ēr > *dāi-w-ēr.

The element in those famous (and some less famous) kinship words is *-ter-, not dissimilar to nomina agentis (and these groups decline quite closely in Sanskrit), but the (possible) connexion isn’t clear.

ἑκηβόλος