The "newish" Sappho #58

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

The "newish" Sappho #58

Post by Paul Derouda »

This is the "formerly new" Sappho that was published in full (or relatively so) only in 2004.

The source is http://inamidst.com/stuff/sappho/. Some words are conjectured, but I'm pasting the version without square brackets for readability.

Υμμες πεδὰ Μοίσαν ἰοκόλπων κάλα δῶρα, παῖδες,
σπουδάσδετε καὶ τὰν φιλάοιδαν λιγύραν χελύνναν·
ἔμοι δ’ ἄπαλον πρίν ποτ’ ἔοντα χρόα γῆρας ἤδη
ἐπέλλαβε, λεῦκαι δ’ ἐγένοντο τρίχες ἐκ μελαίναν·
βάρυς δέ μ’ ὀ θῦμος πεπόηται, γόνα δ’ οὐ φέροισι,
τὰ δή πότα λαίψηρ’ ἔον ὄρχησθ’ ἴσα νεβρίοισι.
τὰ μὲν στεναχίσδω θαμέως· ἀλλὰ τί κεν ποείην;
ἀγήραον ἄνθρωπον ἔοντ’ οὐ δύνατον γένεσθαι.
καὶ γάρ ποτα Τίτωνον ἔφαντο βροδόπαχυν Αὔων
ἔρωι φυράθεισαν βάμεν’ εἰς ἔσχατα γᾶς φέροισαν,
ἔοντα κάλον καὶ νέον, ἀλλ’ αὖτον ὔμως ἔμαρψε
χρόνωι πόλιον γῆρας, ἔχοντ’ ἀθανάταν ἄκοιτιν.

I have trouble understanding the syntax of the first two lines, especially the function of πεδὰ (Aeolic for μετά). Μοίσαν is apparently genitive plural. Perhaps "You be zealous in pursuit of (?) the violet-bosomed Muses' beautiful gifts, girls, and the song-loving clear-toned tortoiseshell(=lyre)". It doesn't seem right, because first we have σπουδάσδετε with πεδὰ and then with the plain accusative, but I can't read it any other way.

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Re: The "newish" Sappho #58

Post by jeidsath »

"Especially the lyre/music" -- given the reference to dancing later on.

"Even the lyre" -- Would music be one of the muses' gifts that would be more useful than others in old age? Would she have come back to it later in the poem?

Or maybe the lyre is something that women, or whoever is her audience, wouldn't normally learn?