Iliad Β questions (was Β36 ἔμελλον)

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Iliad Β questions (was Β36 ἔμελλον)

Post by jeidsath »

Β35 ὣϲ ἄρα φωνήϲαϲ ἀπεβήϲετο, τὸν δὲ λίπ’ αὐτοῦ
Β36 τὰ φρονέοντ’ ἀνὰ θυμὸν ἅ ῥ’ οὐ τελέεϲθαι ἔμελλον:
I'm unsure have how to take ἔμελλον. I guess that it would be something like:

"Having said this he departed, and he was left there considering this over in his heart, have I not been destined to accomplish this?"

or

"Having said this he departed, and he was left there considering this over in his heart, has this not been destined to come about?" (But ἅ is neuter, so I wouldn't expect the plural verb.)

Cunliffe has:
2. To be destined or fated to be or to do. With fut. infin.: ἅ ῥ’ οὐ τελέεσθαι ἔμελλον Β36
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Re: Iliad Β36 ἔμελλον

Post by Paul Derouda »

"Having said this he departed, and left him there to consider in his spirit those things (τα) which (α) were not destined to be fulfilled."

Sorry, no accents... α is correlative with τα. I find the plural a bit strange as well, but Homer has occasionally plural verbs with neuter plural. Often there's some emphasis on the plurality of the noun (many individual things as opposed to a collectivity) so I guess that's the case here.

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Re: Iliad Β questions (was Β36 ἔμελλον)

Post by jeidsath »

I see that the next few lines restate Β35/36, though with a singular ἔμελλεν personally referring to Zeus.

B54: Νεστορέῃ -- I think I saw this form of the genitive once in Α, but I don't recall. Is there an explanation for it?