questions about Hesiodos' Theogonia

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
nayu
Textkit Neophyte

questions about Hesiodos' Theogonia

Post by nayu »

Hello everyone, I have been learning ancient Greek on and off for some time now, and I am currently trying to read Theogonia alongside its translation. I'd appreciate some help along the way as I am not experienced with reading real Greek as opposed to textbook Greek. I don't consider myself an advanced student, and perhaps my question is a very simple one.

I am confused with the use of the verb αρχώμεθα in the first line, the full line is

μουσάων Ἑλικωνιάδων ἀρχώμεθ᾽ ἀείδειν

If I am not mistaken, and correct me please if I am, αρχώμεθα is the middle/passive present subjunctive of the verb ἄρχω. I do not understand why it is used in middle/passive instead of active. It is translated as "Let us begin/start...", but doesn't "άρχωμεν", the active present subjunctive form translate as such as well? Is there no difference in meaning between the two forms, άρχωμεν and αρχώμεθα and why does Hesiodos use the latter one instead of the former? Is it right to translate αρχώμεθα as "Let us begin..."?

The only explanation I found for this is that

"The middle represents the subject as doing something in which he is interested. He may do something to himself, for himself, or he may act with something belonging to himself. " from Perseus Library

Is this a correct way to interpret the usage of the verb?

Thank you for reading this post and thank you in advance for helping me.
Last edited by nayu on Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Re: line 1 of Hesiodos' Theogonia

Post by jeidsath »