what's going on with the accusative Οὖτιν?

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
brometheus
Textkit Neophyte

what's going on with the accusative Οὖτιν?

Post by brometheus »

Od. 9
Οὖτις ἐμοί γ᾽ ὄνομα· Οὖτιν δέ με κικλήσκουσι 366
μήτηρ ἠδὲ πατὴρ ἠδ᾽ ἄλλοι πάντες ἑταῖροι.” 367

It's not *Οὔτινα, so the wordplay falls a little flat here.

Do you think Οὖτιν represents
1) an ad-hoc accusative of Οὖτις, on the pattern of i-stem nouns?
2) a relic of a prehistoric version of the pun, from when the accusative of τίς was still *τίν < *kwim (cf. Lat quem)?

Timothée
Textkit Enthusiast

Re: what's going on with the accusative Οὖτιν?

Post by Timothée »

It would seem to me to be simply caused by the sought wordplay (note also the accent differring from οὔτις). The LS s.v. refers also to μήτις and μῆτις (Od. 20,20). We have somewhat similar cases with accusatives of ἔρις and indeed μῆτις (amongst others), as you note. One can easily understand the analogy. Therefore it doesn’t strike to me as terribly strange, though I will not promise that there isn’t more to it. I don’t know if Chantraine indeed has something to add in his Grammaire homérique.

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Post by mwh »

I think it works quite nicely (at least as well as Brometheus :D), in a folktaleish sort of way. ουτιν rather than ουτινα helps ensure that the Cyclops accepts it as a name. His fellow-cyclopes only hear him cry ουτις με κτεινει. Like Timothée I doubt that kwim comes into it; an interesting idea, but more likely an ad hoc analogical formation. Accentuation as Οὖτις is a grammarian’s pedantry.
μητις in bk.20 seems rather more sophisticated: the Odyssey poet himself?

Happy New Year to all!

Timothée
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Timothée »