μερόπων ἀνθρώπων

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

μερόπων ἀνθρώπων

Post by jeidsath »

In my notes from Monro, μερόπων ἀνθρώπων is "a conventional epic word, the meaning of which is unknown" other than it refers to mankind.

The LSJ gives:
dividing the voice, i. e. articulate (cf. Hsch., Sch.11.1.250), “μ. ἄνθρωποι” Il. l.c., Hes.Op.109, etc.; “μ. βροτοί” 11.2.285; “μερόπεσσι λαοῖς” A.Supp.90 (lyr.): hence as Subst., = ἄνθρωποι, Musae.Fr.13 D., A.Ch.1018 (anap.), E.IT1263 (lyr.), A.R.4.536, Call.Fr.418, AP7.563 (Paul. Sil.); a usage satirized by Strato Com., 1.6 sq.
The LSJ revision adds some information, but nothing relevant to this usage. The scholia, referenced by the LSJ, gives this story:
μερόπων ἀνθρώπων: μεμερισμένην τὴν φωνὴν ἐχόντων, ὡς πρὸς συγκρισιν τῶν ἄλλων ζώιων, ὅ ἐστι μεριζομένην εἰς συλλαβὰς καὶ ἔναρθρον ἐχόντων τὴν ὄπα, τουτέστιν τὴν φωνήν.
μερόπων ἀνθρώπων: men having the "divided sound," expressing a division from the other animals, which is divided into syllables and having the articulate (jointed) voice, this is the sound [they have].

The above is my translation (please correct). I thought this sounded like the fanciful creation of someone trying to guess the original meaning from the parts, and it looks like Leaf agrees:
μερόπων, an epithet of which the real sense was in all probability forgotten in Homeric days, as it is used only in purely stereotyped connexion with ἄνθρωποι (exc. B 285, q.v.) We can only say with confidence that it does not mean "articulate," μερίζοντες τὴν ὄπα, as in so ancient a word the ϝ of ϝόψ would not be neglected. The other derivations which have been proposed are quite problematical.