West's edition of the Odyssey

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Ahab
Textkit Member

West's edition of the Odyssey

Post by Ahab »

Happily surprised to learn that Martin West's edition is scheduled for release later this year:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Odyssea-Testim ... 3110425394

The amazon description is incorrect. A more accurate description here:

https://www.degruyter.com/view/product/455813
Why, he's at worst your poet who sings how Greeks
That never were, in Troy which never was,
Did this or the other impossible great thing!
---Robert Browning

-------------------------------------------------------
Hal Friederichs

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Re: West's edition of the Odyssey

Post by Paul Derouda »

I'm waiting for that with impatience!

I wonder if there will be a Studies in the Text and Transmission of the Odyssey.

Timothée
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Timothée »

Now postponed until November 2017. I have a bad feeling about this...

Hylander
Textkit Zealot

Post by Hylander »

I have a bad feeling about this...
Don't. This is typical.
Bill Walderman

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Post by mwh »

According to Amazon
"This is a reproduction of a book published before 1923. This book may have occasional imperfections"

Half right?

Dante
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Dante »

I love Van Thiel's editions of Homer, beautifully printed, elegantly laid out, and the Iliad is one volume! The recent Teubner printings are so ugly: the bindings, the font, the print quality: all kaka. Of course West is god, and I have his Iliad, but almost never look at it.

Hylander
Textkit Zealot

Post by Hylander »

Half right?
No, doubly right.