a grammar question about verb arguments in Od. IV

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
brometheus
Textkit Neophyte

a grammar question about verb arguments in Od. IV

Post by brometheus »

Antinous is asking Noemon whether the latter lent his ship to Telemachus under threat of violence or willingly:

"καί μοι τοῦτ᾽ ἀγόρευσον ἐτήτυμον, ὄφρ᾽ ἐὺ εἰδῶ,
σε βίῃ ἀέκοντος ἀπηύρα νῆα μέλαιναν,
ἦε ἑκών οἱ δῶκας, ἐπεὶ προσπτύξατο μύθῳ." (δ.645-647)

I understand that ἀπ-αυράω can take a double accusative, and at first seems to here, since σε is accusative and so is νῆα μέλαιναν. What I don't understand is how ἀέκοντος can be genitive, since it obviously refers to the same person (Noemon) as σε. It's as though ἀπ-αυράω is taking the double accusative AND acc.-of-thing-bereft-of and gen.-of-person-bereft at the same time! What's with that? Is it just to fit the meter?

Manuel
Textkit Neophyte

Re: a grammar question about verb arguments in Od. IV

Post by Manuel »

Well, here is the Merry-Riddell-Munro take on it: http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/tex ... mmline=646

Treating it as a genitive absolute with concessive force and ellipsis of ὄντος seems to work: "he took it from you by strength, though you were unwilling"

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: a grammar question about verb arguments in Od. IV

Post by mwh »