van Thiel versus Perseus

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

van Thiel versus Perseus

Post by jeidsath »

I thought that this might be interesting to some of the members here.

https://gist.github.com/jeidsath/60104ad158b370de74f6

The above link is a comparison of every line of van Thiel's Iliad and Odyssey that differs from the Perseus texts. The green is van Thiel.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: van Thiel versus Perseus

Post by mwh »

Thanks Joel. Nice. According to the Perseus site its text is the OCT’s. (In the ταρ thread you said it had ταρ at Il.1.93, which surprised me very much indeed. But evidently you were mistaken.)

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »

I noticed that as I was curating the files. It is the University of Chicago Perseus site with ταρ. I had been under the mistaken impression that they were using the Tufts texts unmodified. Apparently not.

The Perseus text that I used above was their downloadable text last updated in the early 1990s. It's available: http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/opensource/download

The UoC Perseus version with the ταρ changes is here (see Line 65): http://perseus.uchicago.edu/perseus-cgi ... %20Il.%201

The text at the UoC site seems to be almost all Perseus in origin, but someone has clearly made edits. I don't see any documentation on who did them or the scope.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Hylander
Textkit Zealot

Post by Hylander »