Iliad17, 3-6/ Homeric similes

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Iliad17, 3-6/ Homeric similes

Post by Bart »

At the beginning of book 17 Menelaus fights for the corpse and armour of Patroclus, slain by Hector.

βῆ δὲ διὰ προμάχων κεκορυθμένος αἴθοπι χαλκῷ,
ἀμφὶ δʼ ἄρʼ αὐτῷ βαῖνʼ ὥς τις περὶ πόρτακι μήτηρ
πρωτοτόκος κινυρὴ οὐ πρὶν εἰδυῖα τόκοιο·
ὣς περὶ Πατρόκλῳ βαῖνε ξανθὸς Μενέλαος.

Though it's a relatively short simile (for Homer at least) I think it is one of the more striking and even touching I've read so far. Another favourite is Apollo pushing over the Greek wall as children push over a sandcastle at the beach (in book 15, I believe).
In both cases, I think, it's not only the point of comparison that makes the simile an effective literary device (pushing over a man made thing is easy as playing for a god etc), but perhaps even more so the dissimilarity between the two situations under comparison. For what greater contrast could there be than between the violence of Apollo on the battle field and children playing, or a warrior in the midst of battle and the peaceful picture of a cow nervously taking care of her calf?

Anyway, I'm interested in what others think are the best/ most beautiful/ strongest similes in Homer.

Markos
Textkit Zealot

Re: Iliad17, 3-6/ Homeric similes

Post by Markos »

Bart wrote:...I'm interested in what others think are the best/ most beautiful/ strongest similes in Homer.
Hi, Bart,

Mark Twain might have said that Homer did not have time to write short similes, so he wrote long ones. But he is at his best when he is compact.
Od 6:20: ἡ δ᾽ ἀνέμου ὡς πνοιὴ ἐπέσσυτο δέμνια κούρης...
Watch him lose the similes, and sum up life's odyssey with three words, a verb and two adverbs:
Od 12:141: ὀψὲ κακῶς νεῖαι...