Iliad16 and interpolations

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Iliad16 and interpolations

Post by Bart »

Right at the end of book 16 is a longish passage (790-804) that describes how Apollo strips Patroclus of his armour. Ameis brackets this entire passage because of its inconsistency with the struggle for Patroclus' armour in book 17. Several questions come to mind:

-do modern commentators still hold the same view?
-why would these lines have been added to the text; I mean what is the surplus value of having Patroclus stripped after having him stunned by Apollo? Is it to belittle Hector's achievement in killing P.?
-how did (most) of these interpollations come about? Are they thought to be very early additions? And -to generalise the question above- for what reason were they added: artistical? political? Are they the result of changing sensitivities?

Sarpedon dead, Patroclus dead, beginning of book 17: slowly the plot is enfolding to its inexorable finale.

Qimmik
Textkit Zealot

Re: Iliad16 and interpolations

Post by Qimmik »