Vocabulary

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Vocabulary

Post by Bart »

After nearly sixteen books of the Iliad my reading speed has improved dramatically (as well it should after many thousands of hexameters). What's slowing me now is mostly vocabulary and unusual/ irregular forms of verbs. But most of all vocabulary. Even after so many pages there are still many, many words I don't know the meaning of, often several in one sentence. That's frustrating. Lately I have begun to jot them down and put them into a memrise course (a kind of online flashcard program), but this takes effort and time. I have the impression it helps at least a bit, but I'm not sure it's the most efficient method. Maybe I should just read on and somehow the vocabulary will slowly grow on me.
How did you, Homerophiles, master this enormous vocabulary? Just by reading or did you use some more active method?

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: Vocabulary

Post by mwh »

I used to keep pocket-sized lined notebooks, in which I entered vocab that I could review and test myself on. Today I’d use sets of flashcards.