κλαγγή // χ?ύση

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Socrates the Cyborg
Textkit Neophyte

κλαγγή // χ?ύση

Post by Socrates the Cyborg »

Singular Plural Singular Plural
N κλαγγή κλαγγαί χ?ύση χ?ύσαι
G κλαγγῆς κλαγγάων χ?ύσης χ?ύσαων
D κλαγγῇ κλαγγῇσι χ?ύσῃ χ?ύσῃσι
A κλαγγήν κλαγγάς χ?ύσην χ?ύσας
V κλαγγή κλαγγαί χ?ύση χ?ύσαι

Dual
NAV κλαγγᾱ χ?ύσα
GD κλαγγῇιν χ?ύσῃιν

Anyone feel like checking my work! :D I have a question about χ?ύσῃσι in particular because I wonder if the accute should stay on υ in this case, since if in Homeric pronunciation you would pronounce the ι even as a subscript then it seems the accent would be on the fourth syllable from the end. If the ι doesn't really count as a syllable (my guess) then it seems it seems the accent can remain. Thanks!

modus.irrealis
Textkit Zealot

Re: κλαγγή // χ?ύση

Post by modus.irrealis »

GlottalGreekGeek
Textkit Zealot

Post by GlottalGreekGeek »

Duals certainly do appear in Homer - they appear more in Homer than any other composer of words in the canon (I prefer the term "composer of words" over "writer" when it comes to the Greeks, since they were much less into writing than we are in our technology-enchanced age). I would have to do a bit of a search to find an example of a alpha-declension female dual, but I'm fairly certain they're there.

perispomenon
Textkit Fan

Post by perispomenon »

I also have the idea that the dualis is not rare in Homer. When I started reading the Iliad many many years ago, almost the first thing I stumbled over, were dual forms. Took me quite a while to actually figure out what they were, because I had not encountered them much learning Attic Greek in school.

I think the first ones appear in line 6 of the first book.

But if you are specifically referring to alpha declension duals, you might perhaps be right. Interesting.