Iliad 13, 441-444

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Iliad 13, 441-444

Post by Bart »

δούπησεν δὲ πεσών, δόρυ δʼ ἐν κραδίῃ ἐπεπήγει,
ἥ ῥά οἱ ἀσπαίρουσα καὶ οὐρίαχον πελέμιζεν
ἔγχεος·

That's just gross; straight out of a low budget splatter movie.
Idomeneus' speech to the dying Othryoneus, while dragging him to the Greek line, is particulary harsh and sarcastic too. Book 13 so far is certainly not for the faint of heart.
Tough ombre this Homer dude.

Qimmik
Textkit Zealot

Re: Iliad 13, 441-444

Post by Qimmik »

The Iliad is full of grotesque woundings, and some of them are anatomically impossible.

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Post by Paul Derouda »

As I've never seen anyone with a spear sticking out of a heart that is still beating, I don't know whether this is realistic or not. I fear it is.

Bart, have you already read the passage where a warrior's eyes fall off? That at least is not very realistic, and definitely very much like a modern splatter movie! Some descriptions are more accurate in detail. I think it's Hector who at some stage has the acetabulum of his hip broken (called κοτύλη in Homer and cotyloid cavity even today in some medical literature).

Homer does this to keep his audience's attention. He has an endless number of ways to say "warrior A kills warrior B". I think he prefers pathos to gore, but he can't avoid the latter, since there's no war without gore.

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Post by mwh »

A couple more points:

It makes a fitting climax to Idomeneus’ aristeia (echoing Diomedes’, foreshadowing Patroclus’) and a fitting lead-in to the challenge to Deiphobus. It’s not a random uber-graphic death, splatter for splatter’s sake, it’s part of the structurally modulated larger pattern.