Nagy's "crystallization" model

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Nagy's "crystallization" model

Post by Paul Derouda »

A continuation from the ταρ thread. Joel said:
As far as ideological opposition between Nagy and West, I've never read an article by Nagy that I didn't find impressive. Perhaps West deserves the regard that he holds on this forum, but what I've read of him so far (mostly his books on music, and a few articles on Homer) hasn't demonstrated genius to me yet. But by all means, I would love to be corrected if someone would like to link me to his best stuff. It's hard work publishing the vast quantities that West does, and I can certainly understand why the quality might vary.
I haven't read Nagy a lot, but as far as I've followed his ideas on genesis of the Homeric epics, he doesn't impress me at all. I'll quote bits from Barry Powell's review of his book Poetry as Performance, Homer and Beyond (to be found in its entirety at http://bmcr.brynmawr.edu/1997/97.03.21.html). I'm not exactly a fan of Powell (he has a strange theory that alphabetic writing was invented for the express purpose of recording Homer, for one), but in this review I think he really nails it. My main difference with him in this review is that I think, following West, that "Homer" wrote and was not dictated; but that's irrelevant for evaluating Nagy's views here.

There's a reply by Nagy, which I can't locate, and a reply to that reply by Powell (http://bmcr.brynmawr.edu/1997/97.04.24.html)