Translation Il.1.124

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Niedzielski
Textkit Neophyte

Translation Il.1.124

Post by Niedzielski »

This line has been irritating me for a very long while:

οὐδέ τί που ἴδμεν ξυνήια κείμενα πολλά

Pharr suggest Achilles is being ironic speaking πολλά and while english translations I've checked all have their own fancy, they all follow this meaning: "we don't know at all of many common stores lying around".

On the other hand, according to my lexicon "οὐδέ τί που" can mean "it's impossible!", and also keimai can be used to mean "to be laid up, be in store, of goods, property, etc". So what I'm thinking is that ἴδμεν is infinitive and that there is a negative implied so the sentance should read: "It is impossible (not) to know that much the common stores are laid up [in the ships]".

Because I'm afraid I am just poorly imposing my own aesthetic jugment here, I would like to know what you guys think.

Thanks!

huilen
Textkit Member

Re: Translation Il.1.124

Post by huilen »

So what I'm thinking is that ἴδμεν is infinitive and that there is a negative implied so the sentance should read: "It is impossible (not) to know that much the common stores are laid up [in the ships]".
ἴδμεν is also first person plural, doesn't it?

http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/mor ... a-contents

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Post by Paul Derouda »

Huilen is right.
οὐδέ "nor"
τί here an adverb, "at all, by any means"
που could either mean "anywhere", or it could be a modal particle "in any way", in which case it brings much the same idea as τί
ἴδμεν "we know", "we are aware of"
ξυνήια "common stores"
κείμενα "lying about"
πολλά "many", or perhaps better translated here "large"

So according to how you translate που, the whole means either