Trouble understanding critical apparatus

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Trouble understanding critical apparatus

Post by Paul Derouda »

Continuation from this thread.

At 1.346, Van Thiel's Odyssey reads
"μῆτερ ἐμή, τί τ᾽ ἄρα φθονέεις ἐρίηρον ἀοιδὸν

The critical apparatus reads:
346 ἄρα D : ἂρ αὖ (= ψ 264), ἂρ ἂν F

I don't understand the apparatus. All the other editions just have τί τ᾽ ἄρα and don't even mention a variant (I checked the OCT, von der Mühll, Merry-Riddell, Ameis-Hentze-Cauer). The way I understand it, different readings are separated by a colon. So ἄρα should be the reading of D. But how can it be the reading of only one manuscript, if most editions don't even mention there are better attested alternatives? And is ἂρ αὖ then attested at all, or is it just adduced as a parallel from ψ 264? Or should ἂρ αὖ be understood as the reading of D?

Qimmik
Textkit Zealot

Re: Trouble understanding critical apparatus

Post by Qimmik »

I don't understand this either. I took a look at the English preface but didn't find anything illuminating. If you can find a copy of Ludwich's edition, it has the most complete repoprting of a large number of mss, and I think van Thiel's apparatus is based largely on ms. readings reported in Ludwich (except for papyri), not on his own collation of the mss. he uses. All of the other editions have of necessity more or less selective apparatuses and don't report every minor variation. Correct me if I'm wrong, but F's reading ἂρ ἂν seems impossible without an optative, doesn't it? If that's the case then other editions might not report it.